Member Awards

Honorary Lifetime Members

Criteria for Nominations of Honorary Life Membership may be found in our Bylaws:

7.5 Honorary Life Membership
(a) Honorary Life Membership may be conferred upon a member for outstanding service to the Association after unanimous consent of the Advisory Board and the Executive Committee.

If you happen to know the year that the following members received their Honorary Life Membership, please email the webmaster.

Past Recipients

  • Sandra Kerr, Regina – 2020
  • Thelma Gillis, Yorkton – 2011
  • Penny Joynt, Saskatoon – 2008
  • Verna Veikle, Battlefords – 2008
  • Lore Ruschiensky, Regina – 2008
  • Sister Teresita (Margaret Elizabeth Leboldus) – 1995
  • Sheila Shinkewski, Saskatoon
  • Lois Bruce, Saskatoon
  • Mary Friesen, Saskatoon
  • Gordon Wallis, Regina
  • Joyce Johnson, Regina
  • Walter Thiessen, Saskatoon
  • George Palmer, Saskatoon
  • Gertrude Greaves, Saskatoon
  • Dorothy Bee, Regina
  • Maude McGuire, Moose Jaw
  • Marjorie Wilson, Saskatoon
  • Edith Mash, Regina
  • Dan Cameron, Regina
  • Lyell Gustin, Saskatoon
  • Muriel Irwin, Saskatoon
  • May Woodley Benson, Saskatoon

Outstanding Teacher Award

In the spirit of celebrating excellence, the SRMTA initiated the Outstanding Achievement Award. Its purpose is to recognize those SRMTA members who have made a difference in their students’ lives, their local musical community, and also at their branch level. A nominal fee of $50 is submitted by the local branch, along with a letter of nomination highlighting the nominee’s contributions and biography.

All nominees are required to have been an SRMTA member for a minimum of 5 years, currently be a member in good standing and have held office at the local, provincial, or national level. This award is an excellent opportunity for branches to acknowledge members who have made a significant contribution to the SRMTA, the local music scene, and student education. Each branch is allowed to nominate one person per year.

Award recipients will be recognized at the Fall AGM. Nominees and their nominators are requested to be present at the Fall AGM.

Past Recipients

  • Laura Ewson – 2018
  • Laureen Kells – 2017
  • Laurel Teichroeb and Sandra Kerr – 2016
  • Penny Joynt – 2014
  • Thelma Gillis

25 Years of Service

Recognizing and celebrating members who have been with the SRMTA for 25 years.

Past Recipients

  • Margaret Andres – 2022
  • Alison Sarauer – 2022
  • Iris Skehar – 2022
  • Chris Kelly – 2022
  • Martin Janovsky – 2022
  • Tanya Myles – 2022
  • Janice Paterson – 2022
  • Shawn Sunderland – 2022
  • Marina Wensley – 2022

© 2022 Saskatchewan Registered Music Teachers Association (SRMTA) | Made with ♥ by Strategy Lab